St. Luke's Health System - Welcome
News and Events
News Articles

Published:  November 3, 2011

Local Chapter of the American College of Healthcare Executives Honors David J. Fine with an Academic Scholarship Established in his Name

David J. Fine, FACHE, President and CEO of St. Luke’s Episcopal Health System, was recognized with a scholarship established in his honor by the American College of Healthcare Executives – SouthEastTexasChapter (ACHE-SETC) at its "What's Up Boss?" event.  The Dr. David J. Fine Scholarship, an academic scholarship in the amount of $5,000, will be awarded annually to a graduate student pursuing a degree in healthcare administration. 

“During his esteemed career in the Houston healthcare arena, Dr. Fine has consistently supported the educational goals and objectives of ACHE-SETC while serving as President/Chair (2007), National ACHE Regent (2008-2011) and an officer of the ACHE-SETC Board of Directors (2007 - 2011). In addition, he has created a unique sponsorship program, supported by the major local health care systems, that provides the means to provide top-notch educational programs to over 1,200 healthcare professionals within the Chapter,” said Todd Caliva, FACHE, ACHE-SETC 2011 President/Chair and Chief Executive Officer, West Houston Medical Center, in the award citation. “It is only fitting that future healthcare professionals follow in his footsteps through a graduate scholarship established in his honor.”
In addition to the Dr. David J. Fine Scholarship, the ACHE - SouthEastTexasChapter offers scholarships in recognition of  three other outstanding professional members of ACHE, Donald B. Wagner, LFACHE, Dan S. Wilford, LFACHE, and the late Dr. Jeptha W. Dalston, FACHE, who's tireless efforts helped make the Chapter the success it is today . Additionally, the organization offers an ACHE - SouthEastTexasChapter scholarship.  Total annual scholarship awards now available through the Chapter totals $25,000.

Fine states, “I am most appreciative of this recognition and humbled to join an outstanding group of healthcare executives. Dr. Dalston served as one of my mentors, so it is a tremendous honor to be held in a similar regard with this scholarship.”  Fine holds a Master of Health Administration degree from the University of Minnesota, where he was the winner of the James A. Hamilton Prize. He was awarded a Doctor of Philosophy degree, honoris causa, by the Board of Trustees of the Institution of Higher Education of the State of Mississippi in recognition of his lifetime achievements as a practitioner-educator.  The ACHE national organization has previously recognized Fine with its prestigious Hudgen’s Medal and he has been listed by Modern Healthcare as one of its “100 Most Powerful People in Healthcare.”

Health administration graduate students interested in applying for one of the ACHE-SETC scholarships should contact Ryan Breaux at 832-824-3431 or via email at

Return to News and Events.